Mission and Vision

Malaysia is at a crossroad. There are questions whether this country is heading in the right direction, as it deals with challenges and issues amid the changing political landscape. As far as CENBET is concerned, the country needs to stay the course by going back to the founding principles of this country. It is with this in mind that CENBET has made these its main causes:
(i) Promote moderation
(ii) Promote transparency and good governance.

To achieve this, CENBET believes in getting its message across to as many Malaysians as possible – focusing on the “elites” as well as the masses.

CENBET is also a key sponsor of two charitable initiatives, in collaboration with the Hiichiikok Foundation. They are an orphanage and provision of free tuition to needy students.

CENBET's tagline is "laying the foundation for a better Malaysia".

Board of Governors

Chairman : Tan Sri Clement Hii
Members : Dato’ Simon Lim Seng Chai
: Chong Cheng Hai
Executive Council

Co-Presidents : Dato’ Lim Chee Wee, Gan Ping Sieu
Deputy President : Tan Sri. Dr T. Marimuthu
Secretary-General : Vacant
Vice-President : Ng Yeen Seen
  Dato' Simon Lim Seng Chai
Committee members : Cindy Khaw
: Low Eng Tack
: Chow KH
Management Team

Executive Director : Teh Eng Hock
Researcher Fellow : Prathaban V

Co-chairmen President:
Dato’ Lim Chee Wee

Dato’ Lim Chee Wee, is an ex-president of the Malaysian Bar Council. He graduated from University of New South Wales with a LLB degree and B. Commerce (Accounting) degree. He is an active advocate of human rights. He also sits in the National Unity Consultative Council.


Co-chairmen President:
Gan Ping Sieu

Gan Ping Sieu is a lawyer by training and had served as the Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports from 2010-2013. He was also an MCA vice-president and is known to be vocal on many public interest issues.


Deputy President:
Tan Sri Dr T. Marimuthu

Tan Sri Dr T. Marimuthu was a former Deputy Agriculture Minister (1994-1995) and has served as a Senator ( 1996-2002). He led an illustrious career in education, having served as Deputy Dean in Universiti Malaya’s Education Faculty and an education consultant for UNESCO and World Bank. He is now an Adjunct Professor at Asia-e-University.


Committee members:
Woon King Chai

Woon King Chai was a student activist and a Chevening scholar. He shot to fame by being one of the four UKM students held by the authorities over the University and University Colleges Act in 2010. The group later challenged the Act in court, which eventually led to its amendments in 2012.


Committee members:
Low Eng Tack

Low Eng Tack is a management consultant by profession. He is also president of the National United Youth Movement (GBBM), an influential grassroots youth movement with 25,000 members nationwide. He also serves as Vice-President of the Malaysian Youth Council since 2010.


Committee members:
Cindy Khaw

Cindy Khaw is a practising lawyer with great interest in social work and affairs. She is also involved in helping underprivileged children.


Ng Yeen Seen

Yeen Seen is the Senior Vice President/ Chief Strategy & Programme Officer at the Asian Strategy & Leadership Institute (ASLI) and the Senior Director at the Centre for Public Policy Studies (CPPS). An Accounting graduate of Cardiff University, UK, she holds a postgraduate degree in Education Policy from Warwick University, UK. In 2011, she was selected as a National Youth Icon by the Ministry of Youth and Sports. She also sits in the Technical Committee for the National Wage Council, under the Human Resources Ministry. Yeen Seen has attended various fellowship programmes overseas and has facilitated in numerous socio-economic as well as political conferences locally and abroad.

© CENBET. All rights reserved (2014)